Commentator smashes Whitney field + Battle ROyale week 1 RESULTS

Commentator wins the Whitney 2008/phot from bloodhorse.com

Commentator wins the Whitney 2008/phot from bloodhorse.com

The old man did it again, 3 years after his first Whitney victory, he galloped home once more 4.5 lengths in front.  The Zito-trained gelding showed that he loves longer distances, as long as he’s left alone on the lead.  He also gave me some much-needed points on the ROad to the BC contest.

Best run of the day was turned in by Ginger Punch, who found a world of trouble in the Go For Wand.  Boxed in early, she ran trapped on the rail ost of the way & in the stretch she had to bully her way between horses to snatch the lead.  She won going away.  The Distaff division is so tough right now, with GP, Hystericalady, and Zenyatta, not to mention Proud Spell, Pure CLan and Zaftig on the 3 year old side.  Indian Blessing is a top sprinter, period. 

It’s already a close race in SAUHBR.  BT leads me by 2 points after the weekend.  We both hit exactas for bonus points (whoot!).  Here’s the breakdown:

Saturday:

GO FOR WAND:

1)GINGER PUNCH (4pts) 2)Copper State 3)Indescribable (Inside Passage & Spring Waltz scr, so by the scoring rules, they were replaced by Ginger Punch, the race favorite.  Because GP won, I got an extra point)

WHITNEY:

1)COMMENTATOR (2) 2)Student Council 3)Grasshopper

SAN CLEMENTE:

1)Storm Mesa 2)Tasha’s Miracle 3)MISTY OCEAN (1)

SUNDAY:

JIM DANDY:

1)Macho Again 2)PYRO(2) 3)Tiz Now Tiz Then

BING CROSBY:

1)STREET BOSS (2) 2)IN SUMMATION (2) 3)Jungle Prince BOXED EXACTA BONUS 4 points!

SEAGRAM CUP:

1)Artie Hot 2)True Metropolitan (1) 3)Palladio

That’s 19 Points for me.  BT got lucky in the Seagram Cup & hit an exacta for 6 points, which put him at 22 total.  The contest just got started, but already it’s a close race.

Advertisements

1 Comment

Filed under Brag sheet, Del Mar, Graded Stakes, Handicapping, results, Saratoga, SAUHBR

One response to “Commentator smashes Whitney field + Battle ROyale week 1 RESULTS

  1. You can’t be callin’ luck after one week–especially not for the Seagram Cup.
    Now, if Cowtown Cat had finished in the exacta, then you could’ve called luck.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s